Jean-Paul Montenot

Of Counsel

Office(s) :

Paris

Bar(s) : Paris

Biography

With 35 years’ experience leading his own firm, Jean-Paul Montenot’s practice now focuses on the free movement of goods within the European Union and European regulation of regulated products and the transportation of goods.

He advises on competition law (the marketing of fresh products), consumer and fraud prevention law, European law (free movement), public law (markets of national interest (marchés d'intérêt national) and state liability), arbitration law (chamber of arbitration), European law and preliminary questions before the CJEU raised before the national courts (parallel imports) and state defaults.

The above areas are almost always linked to the marketing of fresh products at every stage of the process, from seed to consumer labeling via commercial websites.

Jean-Paul is a member of the French Association for Rural Law (AFDR) and has advised professional federations and their members (UNCGFL, FEDEPOM, UNIGROS, Coordination Rurale) on both their daily operations as well as on collective disputes, such as compensation for the state’s failure to comply with the provisions of EU treaties, or state non-compliance (such as farmer’s protests, truck driver strikes) and other issues faced by their members. He has also been involved in redrafting codes of practice, such as RUCIP and COFREUROP.

  • French
  • English
  • Legal 500 2021 – EU, Competition & Distribution (Band 5)
  • Le Point 2021 – Commercial law, Business law and Competition (4 étoiles)
ds
Publications

Browse the wide variety of publications written by DS lawyers.

ds
ds
Latest

Follow our latest activities all over the world.

ds
ds
Events

Participate in events organised by DS Avocats throughout the world.

ds

Jean-Paul Montenot

Of Counsel

Bureau(x) :

Paris

Barreau(x) : Paris

Biographie


Fort de 35 ans d’exercice professionnel dans son propre Cabinet, l’activité de Jean-Paul Montenot est essentiellement tournée vers la libre circulation des produits dans l’Union Européenne et de la règlementation européenne en matière de produits réglementés et en matière de transports de marchandises.

Il intervient en Droit de la concurrence (mise en marché des produits frais), Droit de la consommation et de la répression des fraudes, Droit Européen (libre circulation), Droit public (MIN et responsabilité de l’Etat), Droit de l’arbitrage (Chambre arbitrale), Droit Européen et pratique des questions préjudicielles devant la CJUE soulevées devant les juridictions nationales (importations parallèles) et manquements d’Etats.

Ces domaines ont presque toujours été en relation avec la mise en marché des produits frais tout au long des filières, depuis les semences jusqu’à l’étiquetage pour le consommateur en passant par la mise en place de sites marchands.

Membre de l’association Française de droit Rural (AFDR), Jean Paul Montenot a accompagné des fédérations professionnelles et leurs adhérents (UNCGFL-FEDEPOM-UNIGROS-Coordination Rurale) aussi bien dans leurs fonctionnements qu’à l’occasion de contentieux collectifs comme des indemnisations pour non respect des dispositions du Traité UE par l’état, ou à raison des carences de l’état ( manifestations agriculteurs-grève des routiers) ou des problématiques concernant leurs adhérents. Il a également participé à la refonte de code d’usages (RUCIP-COFREUROP).

  • Droit commercial, de la concurrence et de l’Union européenne
  • Agroalimentaire, Agricole et Viticole

 

 

 

 

  • Français
  • Anglais

 

 

 

 

 

 

ds
Publications

Parcourez la très grande variété de publications rédigées par les avocats DS.

ds
ds
News

Suivez la vie du cabinet, ses actions et ses initiatives sur les 4 continents.

ds
ds
Événements

Participez aux évènements organisés par DS Avocats à travers le monde.

ds
DS Avocats dans le monde